President's Message

TAOG President 2019-2021

John Thoppil, MD FACOG

6611 River Place Boulevard, Suite 202

Austin, TX 78730

Phone: 512-473-8300


 Dr. Thoppil has always had an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and a passion for helping and caring for others. He was able to merge his two loves by following the footsteps of both his parents into a career in medicine. He completed his undergraduate degree at Texas A&M University and his medical degree at the Baylor College of Medicine, one of the premier medical schools in the country. He did his OB/GYN training at the Air Force’s flagship medical center, Wilford Hall, at Lackland AFB. Dr. Thoppil served his country as a physician in the Air Force prior to returning to his home state of Texas in 2008. 

Today, Dr. Thoppil is a board-certified Obstetrician and Gynecologist who has been recognized with numerous academic, professional, and patient-driven awards. He is committed to his practice, River Place OB/GYN, and delivers many of his OB patients himself! He is an active member of the Austin community and is a strong advocate for women’s health issues on a local, as well as national level.

John Thoppil, MD FACOG

John Thoppil, MD FACOG